All the 2017 Lizzies nominees with more than one nomination

Woo-hoo, it’s almost time for the 15th Annual ACS IT Journalism awards, also known as the Lizzies, recognising the best tech journos in Australia. You can check out the full list of finalists here. I’m thrilled to have made the cut for two of them: Best Consumer Technology Journalist and Best Technology Issues Journalist. Tech is only a small part of my writing life these days, so it’s nice to have some skin in the game.

As in previous years (2016, 2015), I’ve summarised who has received the most finalist slots. (And no, this isn’t self-serving – I only just made the list!) Here’s everyone who is a finalist in more than one category:

  • 6 finalist berths: Claire Reilly
  • 5 finalist berths: Paul Smith
  • 4 finalist berths: Allie Coyne, Simon Sharwood
  • 3 finalist berths: Chris Griffith, David Braue, Hayley Williams, Petroc Wilton, Ry Crozier
  • 2 finalist berths: Adam Turner, Alex Choros, Alex Kidman, Amanda Yeo, Angus Kidman, Ariel Bogle, Campbell Simpson, Corinne Reichert, David Swan, Jeremy Kirk, Kenneth Tsang, Leigh Stark, Leon Spencer, Luke Lancaster, Mark Serrels, Matthew Sainsbury, Max Mason, Nick Ross, Rae Johnston, Rohan Pearce, Seamus Byrne, Yolanda Redrup

The amazing Claire Reilly is clearly the one to beat (and she’s competing in both the categories I’m in, dammit). In total, 31 people are finalists in more than one category, up from 24 last year. I didn’t do an analysis for the coverage awards which are given to individual titles, as there’s only a longlist for each category.

I will be live-blogging the results from the Lizzies ceremony, which kicks off at 1830 on Friday 12 May. I’ll tweet out a link with the hashtag #lizzies on the day. I can also confidently predict: I won’t win anything this year. The competition is really tight in my categories, and no-one’s allowed to win Best Dressed two years in a row. Despite that, I promise my outfit will indeed be disruptive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.